THE DEPARTED

A sense of emptiness surrounds, when our loved ones depart. Though, we know, it’s the law of nature, it is not easy to accept, that the person is no more. This definitely leaves a scar in our lives. Time,” the ultimate healer”, gradually fades the person from our memories. But, it’s never the same as before.

I never knew how it feels to lose a person close to my heart. But, there’s a first time for everything in life. It was the first Thursday of December, when I got a call from my dad. He was choking, and I thought, it was a connection problem. Then, the deafening words fell on my ears. It was my dad’s feeble voice telling me that my mother was gone. It was a strange feeling. As a kid, I always thought my parents were immortals. I guess every kid feels the same way. But, the truth began to dawn on me as I grew up.

I couldn’t seem to accept the shock. So, I fled and went in search of I don’t know what. I went to Himalayas, Kashi, Haridwar, etc… I still couldn’t come to terms with life. I was resting in a village in Uttar Pradesh, when I met this farmer. I stayed as a guest in his house. It was he who convinced me to go back to my place. “Believe me. You will definitely find your mother on your way back.” he said. The next day, I took a bus to my place.

The wind blew softly, caressing my face gently, pushing the black curls back to their place. I closed my eyes. My heart tried to comprehend the immense feeling of happiness, but failed terribly. Suddenly, as they say, “At the end of tunnel there is light”, a sudden bright beam of realization started to dawn on my mind. It was her. It was definitely her. Those were my mother’s love filled hands, consoling me, telling me, that she is with me, as always. The sweet voice of birds was actually my mother singing to me. The rustle of the leaves, was her telling me to get over and move on. This was what I was searching for from many days.  My mind was finally at peace.

Praveen S

2 responses to “THE DEPARTED

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.